Growths take time, be patient.

Are you fed up to see yourself not getting to the type of a person you want to become? Are you tired to send countless CVs and Cover Letter to organization after organization with no response? Maybe you are tired to see yourself fails in Interview Stages. Well, stop worrying and remember that

Growth takes time, be patient

Since Graduating in December, 2019. I've sent more than 150 emails to more than 100 companies that advertised for Human Resources Jobs (from HR Officers to HR Managers position cadre's) Basically just because I needed a job in the field of HR. I applied to every job positions related to HR. I did applied to organizations within Tanzania, East Africa, Africa (Regional organizations such as African Union and Globally entities such as European Union, United Nations and others to name a few. Boy, I was wrong! 🤔

Well out of 150 applications sent to all of the organizations, Only 10 responded and although they responded, they didn't accept my applications. It emotionally hurts to see such a tremendous failure but I kept applying because, deep down I know I am good enough to be employed! a mistake number 2. (Over-confidence on my own capabilities). Just like the way it was, companies carried on rejecting me over and over again, while other decided not to even bother to respond to my applications. In HR's we have this saying

Only Shortlisted Candidates will be contacted.

Well in most times I was on the opposite side of shortlisted candidates.

That's where I decided to make adjustments on the way I was writing my application letters and responding to Interview questions (If I reached that stage) Instead of just applying for job positions with numerous organizations, I decided to filter types of organization I would enjoy working with, in this aspect I didn't just focus my attention on "How much would I get Paid" because although pays are important but Company Goals, Culture, Career Ladders, Training and Development Programs and Recognition Incentives are also important.

By doing so, I started to write application letter that demonstrates what qualities I possess and how can I add value to the particular working organization as they aspire to timely deliver the expected monthly and annually goals for them. This was my first win because to be shortlisted to next stages such as Aptitude Tests, Oral/Written Interviews and Job Offers you would need to effectively trigger Hiring Managers Attentions via Detailed Cover Letter/Application letter.

Below is a sample of 1 of my application letters sent to one particular organization.

Company Official Address

Dear Sir/Madam

RE: APPLICATION FOR VACANT POSITION FOR HUMAN RESOURCE OFFICER

Kindly refer to the above captioned matter. I am Emmanuel C. Ngowi, Tanzanian young graduate from the Institute of Social Work, Dar es Salaam. I saw the vacant position notice in the official website of (Company name) and I would like to apply for the position of Human Resource Officer in this organization. Having graduating my Bachelor’s Degree in Human Resource Management from the Institute of Social Work in December, 2019 I wish to bring my knowledge and skills in HR Planning and budgeting, salary and benefits administration as well as effectively monitoring and evaluating performance management of (company name) valuable resources and performing appraisal tasks towards the analysis for training needs and thoroughly coordination of effective training programs that would ensure enrichment of skills, tactics and experience of the workforce within the (Company name). Throughout my studies, I have become equipped with necessary knowledge towards people’s management throughout employee recruitment and selection up to the staff separation and terminal benefits processing, and this skillset will be useful towards the growth and development of (Company name) thus realizing its vision and objectives in a timely manner. I have further acquired working experience through field studies participations in National Social Security Fund (NSSF) and National Microfinance Bank PLC (NMB) and collectively they both have exposed me to tasks related to HR Administration, and worked in the Center of expertise whereby I learnt different modes of HR Operations. Hence, during my course of 5 months I developed enthusiasm and passion for Human Resources, in which I do believe they can effectively be useful towards the performance of assigned tasks and responsibilities in (Company name).

Did such letters triggered attentions of Hiring Managers?, Yes it actually works because when I focus on telling them what I can do to them instead of BEGGING to be Hired. Take this as a open challenge then:

Tell them what you can do based on your skills, knowledge, experience in the whatever professional field you are and trust me when I say you will start to see a major difference in your career.

A quick recap:

  • Applying to plenty of organizations is a waste of time

  • Applying to such organizations without a proper strategy is definitely not gonna work at all.

  • When applying for job position(s), show how you can add value to them and not anything else

Thank you for your time and to read all of this till the end is something exceptional, 👏🎉 If you found this content useful to you, please share it to others so they can learn a thing or two Also you can follow me to read such contents on Twitter as well as LinkedIn Well till next time, be safe.

Emmanuel's Career Growth Tips©2021