Things I learned About Web Dev

Hello there, I am Emmanuel Ngowi and today I am really excited to the extent of writing my first ever post here in dev.to community. (then copied it and do some editing in hashnode.com) First of all this platform is really great and interactive and that's what I needed most in these early days of being an apprentice in learning about web development.

I started learning about Web Dev in January of 2021 and for the past 6 months I have covered the basics of HTML5 and CSS.

I start learning the basics with Khan Academy (they have such a great curriculum and they have some wonderful motivational and educational videos with people who have done great job in tech world as well as business and entrepreneurship) After completion of their course I was recommended by a friend to use resources provided by Freecodecamp.org to learn more about web development if I'm that interested in those stuffs, I checked their content and due to their impressive curriculum I decided to give it a go and re-learned again HTML and CSS. I was really excited when I discovered that there are more than hundred thousand people in Twitter and collectively they had formed a developer community in that platform and I followed some of them there (they are such positive people and they're simply inspirational)

What I learned so far is:

Don't fall in the trap called "Learn Web Dev in 30 Mins" Web Dev is too huge and 30Mins timeframe to learn all about it is almost impossible to do so, so avoid those tricks because I believe that there's no shortcut in achieving anything worthful in this World.

Give yourself a time to learn There's no race in learning phase, the goal is to understand the concepts and not cramming them out. I would like to quote Hussein Bolt "The Fastest man alive" "Worrying gets you nowhere. If you turn up worrying about how you’re going to perform, you’ve already lost. Train hard, turn up, run your best and the rest will take care of itself." Worrying is a misuse of your imagination. Instead of wasting your energy in worrying, utilize that time to become better and stronger.

Interaction with other developers is a must (listen, read, watch, and start a conversations with your fellow developers) regardless your a beginner or even 30 year experienced developer interactions is what makes us human beings. It's great to your physical and mental wellbeing.

Do projects (Practice, Practice and Practice more) (from Html and CSS to the programming languages like JavaScript and Python and plenty of other languages) it is must to commit yourself in doing some projects, don't stop with "I get this, I know this one is easy!" just do that project and if you encounter a setback kindly use platforms like these to ask and learn more.

Avoid Burnouts I do believe in time management, don't overwork yourself. Switch off that Laptop, or Desktop and take some rest, go out and do your part in making this World of ours a better place, talk with friends and people closest to you instead of just using tech products like social medias. Be social, do some workouts, listen to music and so much more, remember there's life and living it to the fullest is our priority too. People in year 1045 were happier and connected too although they didn't had Facebook or Instagram.

These are things I have learned from my 6 months of learning and doing some projects in 2021. Hope it will help someone in being a better developer. All the best in your journey to learn and be an agent of transformations in tech universe. Until Next time, be safe.

(You can follow me in: Twitter where I'm sharing my journey and I will be glad to connect with you in learning about your experiences too)